On this page
- Title, body and format
- Referenced page
- Revision information
- Authoring information
- Publishing options
- Save, preview and delete
There are many types of content in Open Atrium, including blog posts, case tracker cases, and notebook pages. While each type of content has some unique properties, they also have a lot in common. The purpose of this page is to document the common settings you will see when adding these different types of content.
The Title (1) is required for all content. The Body (2) is where you will put the content of your post.
The __input format__ (3) is a dropdown box that a user will only see if they have permission to select their input format. By default, this is set to Markdown, but input formats can modified, and new input formats can be added. An input format determines how the content will be modified when it is rendered for viewing. When Markdown is selected, for example, the special Markdown syntax will be converted to HTML when the content is viewed. To learn more about how input formats work, take a look at this article on Drupal.org.
The Notifications section allows you to specify who will be notified by email when your content is submitted. Optionally, you can check the Do not send notifications for this update to skip sending notifications without modifying the subscribers. See the Notifications documentation page for more information about how notifications work.
The attachments section of the form is collapsed by default, but can be expanded by clicking the (+) sign to the left of the section. This section allows you to attach files to your post. Read more on the Attachments documentation page.
A group can be public or private, and any posts made to the group will match the group setting. Public posts are visible to any visitors to the page. Private posts will only be visible to members of the group. You cannot change the setting of individual posts.
Optionally, a post can reference another post. When a user is viewing the referenced post, a link will display at the bottom of the post to the referencing post. This can be helpful when linking related content. To fill this in, begin typing the title of the post to reference and a box will display with the titles of matching posts. Click on the title of the post you would like to reference.
By default, every time modifications are made to a post, a new revision is created. Users can then view these revisions to see what changes were made to the post, by whom. Admins and manager can revert to older revisions. The log message is saved along with the revision and should indicate what was changed with the new revision.
The Authoring information section is collapsed by default, but can be expanded by clicking the (+) sign to the left of the section. This contains the username of the author of the post, along with the date the post was made. Only admins can modify this information.
The publishing options section includes a few options as described below:
- Published: When this is checked, the content will be visible as per the privacy settings of the group it belongs to. When unchecked, the content will only be visible to admins.
- Promoted to front page: By default, this setting does not affect the display of content. However, this can be useful to create a sub-set of content to use for custom features.
- Sticky at to of lists: When this is checked, the content will appear above all other content in lists. This setting can be useful for important announcements.
These buttons typically appear below the form as well as in the top of the right sidebar. Both sets perform the same functions.
- Save: Clicking this will submit the form and save the content.
- Preview: Clicking this will display the content in a box so that you can insure that you have formatted the content correctly.
- Delete: This option is grayed-out to give it less of a focus, but it is still functional. Clicking this will open a confirmation form asking you if you are sure you want to delete the content. If you do not see this button, you do not have permission to delete the content.